New and coming soon!
Images of books and encyclopedias in this guide link to amazon.com in most cases. The titles link to the appropriate record in the library catalog.
-
Stars and Shadows
by
Call Number: BF 575 .F66 A52 2022ISBN: 9780197621998Publication Date: 2022-06-01 -
Supernatural Lore of Southern Utah
by
Call Number: BF 1472 .U6 E4 2022ISBN: 1467150444Publication Date: 2022-09-12 -
The Witches of St Osyth
by
Call Number: BF 1581 .G5356 2022ISBN: 9781108494670Publication Date: 2022-12-22 -
The Princeton Guide to Historical Research
by
Call Number: D 16 .S345 2021ISBN: 9780691198224Publication Date: 2021-04-27 -
Primary Sources
Primary Source
A primary source is an eyewitness account of an event or data obtained through original statistical or scientific research.
What are some examples of primary sources?
- Diaries
- Letters
- Speeches
- Photographs
- Official records (government reports, transcripts, court records, death certificates, etc.)
- Contemporary news reports (newspapers, telecasts, radio addresses, etc.)
- Maps
- Interviews
- Statistics
- Polls and Public Opinion Data
- Laws, statutes, hearings
Secondary Source
A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may include pictures of primary sources or quotes from them. Some types of secondary sources include: journal/magazine articles, textbooks, commentaries, and encyclopedias.
Newspapers
Newspapers may be either primary or secondary. Most articles in newspapers are secondary, but reporters may be considered as witnesses to an event. Any topic on the media coverage of an event or phenomenon would treat newspapers as a primary source.
Examples of Primary Sources by Discipline
| Discipline | Primary Source | Secondary Source |
|---|---|---|
| Art | Sketch Book | Conference proceedings on French Impressionism |
| History | Emancipation Proclamation (1863) | Book on the anti-slavery struggle |
| Journalism | Interview | Biography of publisher Katherine Meyer Graham |
| Law | Legislative Hearing | Law review article on anti-terrorism legislation |
| Literature | Novel | Literary criticism on The Name of the Rose |
| Music | Score of an opera | Biography of composer Georges Bizet |
| Political Science | Public Opinion Poll | Newspaper article on campaign finance reform |
| Rhetoric | Speech | Editorial comment on Martin Luther King's "I Have a Dream" speech |
| Sociology | Voter Registry | Ph.D. dissertation on Hispanic voting patterns |
Articles/Databases
-
JSTORA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
-
ProQuest CentralA scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of thousands of journals in a range of subjects. This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
-
Project MUSEProvides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
-
Salem PressReference resources for psychology, health, historical topics, and literary criticism.
-
New York Times for EducationAccess to the New York Times provided by Utah Tech University. The creation of a separate NYT account is required.
Meet your librarian!
Find a DVD
The Utah Tech University Library has an extensive collection of DVD's and videos. Use the online catalog to find films in our collection.
(1) Input the title in the title box
(2) Select "Audiovisual" under material type
(3) Push search. You will be given a call number for the film, which will be located on the DVD shelves on the 2nd floor of the Holland Centennial Commons.
Other Useful Resources:
-
Library CatalogSearch for books, audio, video, and periodicals at the Utah Tech University Library.
-
Electronic BooksA list of ebook databases available at Utah Tech.
-
Full-Text Periodicals ListFind a specific journal or magazine.
-
Interlibrary LoanBorrow materials from other libraries.