Research Guides: History and Political Science Resources: Census Records

Origins of the Census

The United States Constitution requires the Census be taken every ten years as a means of apportioning direct taxes and to determine the number of congressional representatives in the House for each state. Originally, the census would count all free peoples, indentured servants, Native Americans who paid taxes, and slaves who only counted as three-fifths of a person.

“Representatives and direct Taxes shall be apportioned among the several States which may be included within this Union, according to their respective Numbers, which shall be determined by adding to the whole Number of Free Persons, including those bound to Service for a Term of Years, and excluding Indians not taxed, three fifths of all other Persons. The actual Enumeration shall be made within three Years after the first Meeting of the Congress of the United States, and within every subsequent Term of ten Years, in such Manner as they shall by Law direct” (Constitution, Article 1, Section 2).

Since the first census was taken in 1790, there have been 22 censuses recorded (each 10 years apart). The census has a 72-year restriction limiting access to the 1950-2010 records to individuals and heirs. This means that for general research purposes, the 1940 census is the most recent open for general use. Up until the 1890 census, US Marshals performed the census, after which specially trained census-takers took over the task. The Census Bureau provides the instructions and questionnaires used for each census.

4 Minute Overview of Census Records

What is in the Census?

From 1850-1940 you can find the following details for all individuals recorded in the census

names of family members
their ages at a certain point in time
their state or country of birth
their parent's birthplaces
year of immigration
street address
marriage status and years of marriage
occupation(s)
value of their home and personal belongings
the crops that they grew (in agricultural schedules), et

Helpful Hints & Clues:

1850-1930 Clues in the Census Records

1790-1840 Clues in the Census Records

Census Records at the National Archives

Census by Decade

First Census of the United States (Index Only), 1790
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1790. This was the first national census conducted in the United States. No schedules are known to exist for Delaware, Georgia, Kentucky, New Jersey, Tennessee, and Virginia.
Second Census of the United States (Index Only), 1800
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1800. This was the second national census conducted since 1790.
Third Census of the United States (Index Only), 1810
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1810. This was the third national census conducted since 1790. No schedules are known to exist for District of Columbia, Georgia, New Jersey, Ohio, and Tennessee.
Fourth Census of the United States (Index Only), 1820
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1820. This was the fourth national census conducted since 1790. No schedules are known to exist for New Jersey.
Fifth Census of the United States (Index Only), 1830
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1830. This was the fifth national census conducted since 1790.
Sixth Census of the United States (Index Only), 1840
Name index to the population schedules listing the inhabitants of the United States in 1840. This was the sixth national census conducted since 1790.
Seventh Census of the United States, 1850
Name index and images of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1850. This was the seventh census conducted since 1790. Searchable data and browse are available for all states and territories.
Seventh Census of the United States (Slave Schedule), 1850
Name index and images of slave schedules listing slave owners and only age, gender and color data of the slaves in cesus states or territories in 1850. This was the first time that slave infomation was captured as a separate schedule. Indexed data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Slave schedules are not available for other states.
Eight Census of the United States, 1860
Name index and images of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1860. This was the eighth census conducted since 1790. Currently, data is available for Alabama (96%), Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Dakota Territory, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania (99%), Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.
Ninth Census of the United States, 1870
Name index and images of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1870. This was the ninth census conducted since 1790.
Tenth Census of the United States, 1880
Names index to population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1880. This was the tenth census conducted since 1790.
Eleventh Census of the United States, 1890
Fragments of the US census population schedule exist only for the states of Alabama, District of Columbia, Georgia, Illinois, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, South Dakota, and Texas.
Twelfth Census of the United States, 1900
Name index and images of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1900. This was the twelfth census conducted since 1790. The searchable index covers all states including the Armed Forces (foreign country where census occurred) and the Indian Territory. Images can also be viewed using the browse option and includes all states including the Armed Forces (foreign country where census occurred) and the Indian Territory.
Thirteenth Census of the United States, 1910
Index to the 1910 population census schedules comprising 48 states, two territories (Arizona and New Mexico), Puerto Rico, and Military and Naval (in Philippines, Hospitals, Ships, and Stations).
Fourteenth Census of the United States, 1920
Name index of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1920. This was the fourteenth census conducted since 1790. There were 107.5 million individuals enumerated this census year.
Fifteenth Census of the United States, 1930
The 1930 United States Census Population Schedules. This includes the 48 states as well as Alaska, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Consular Services, Panama Canal Zone, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Sixteenth Census of the United States, 1940
Name index of population schedules listing inhabitants of the United States in 1940. This was the sixteenth census conducted since 1790. There were 134 million individuals enumerated this census year. The schedules cover the 48 states as well as Alaska, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Panama Canal Zone, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Official Website of the Sixteenth Census of the United States, 1940
The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.
Seventeenth Census of the United States, 1950
The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.
List of all Digitized Census and National Archives Records
The list includes all microfilm publications and original records that have been either partially or wholly digitized by Ancestry.com, Fold3.com, and Familysearch.org.