Multi-subject databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Gale Access This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of authoritative periodicals, scholarly journals, newspapers, and reference content.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium This link opens in a new windowLanguage and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
- Project MuseFull-text of a variety of topics is covered, including anthropology, area studies, art, classics, economics, education, film, geography, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine, music, performing arts, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, and sociology.
Help!
- End NoteIf you are using End Note for the creation of citations, tutorials are provided here.
- ISI Web of KnowledgeThe Arts and Humanities Citation Index is covered by this tutorial to support use of the database.
Databases
- Utah Historical QuarterlyUtah Historical Quarterly began publication in 1928 and, except for several years during the 1930s and 1940s, has been published continuously since 1928. The journal is filled with articles, memoirs, primary sources, book reviews, and photos.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowDesigned to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
- Salem History This link opens in a new windowReference resource for historical topics. Provides access to Milestone Documents, a collection of primary source documents, The Decades covering the 1950s through the 1990s, Musicians & Composers and the Encyclopedia of American Business.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowHistorical dictionary of English, covering use of words from earliest times to present day.
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new windowStreaming music database. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, it is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Part of the Music Online collection.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Fuente Académica This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCitation index that provides consolidated searching of a social science citation index, art and humanities citation index and multi disciplinary databases—may be searched by author, title, subject, and topic. These are citations of usage, not full text and will be useful primarily to upper division students and faculty doing research.
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio and videos on therapy, counseling, dance, and music.
Meet your librarian!
Did you know?
The Palace of Versailles started out as a hunting lodge under the reign of Louis XIII. It was Loius XIV who had it transformed into one of the largest palaces in the world, and he officially established his court there in 1682.