Patents and Trademarks: Selected Patent Resources (ebooks) via the Utah Tech University Library

Patent Challenges for Standard-Setting in the Global Economy: Lessons from Information and Communication Technology examines how leading national and multinational standard-setting organizations (SSOs) address patent disclosures, licensing terms, transfers of patent ownership, and other issues that arise in connection with developing technical standards for consumer and other microelectronic products, associated software and components, and communications networks including the Internet.

What are the normative implications of patenting in the area of personalized medicine? As patents on genes and medical diagnoses have increased over the past decade, this question lies at the intersection of intellectual property theory, identity politics, biomedical ethics and constitutional law. These patents are part of the personalized medicine industry, which develops medical treatments tailored to individuals based on race and other characteristics. This book provides an overview of developments in personalized medicine patenting and suggests policies to best regulate such patents.

Since the publication of the 2nd edition additional countries especially in Asia have become more prominent in industry. This completely revised edition takes account of the changing information scene e.g. in new chapters like BRIC nations (Brazil, Russia, India, and China), Asia and regional patent systems or Sources for legal status searching. This is an essential reference tool for academic librarians and information specialists as well as anyone needing to know where and how patent information can be found.

The patent system is criticized today by some practitioners and economists. In fact, there is a partial disconnection between patent demographics and productivity gains, but also the development of actors who do not innovate and who develop business models that their detractors equate with a capture of annuities or a dangerous commodification of patents. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)

Bringing high-tech inventions built on patented technologies to market can be complicated and risky. The threat of added costs from patent infringement lawsuits has led technology companies to pool their talents — and patents — in technology consortia. Joining a tech consortium requires managers to weigh intellectual property value against the value of future collaborations and assess the consortium’s pros and cons for innovation, competition, and market creation. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)

Bridges the gap between the realistic needs and questions of scientists and engineers and the legal skills of professionals in the patent field at a level accessible to those with no legal training. Written for inventors in lay terms that they can relate to or easily follow. Lays out the new features of patent law introduced by the America Invents Act of 2012. Explains the differences between the first-to-invent and first-to-file rules and why the two rules will coexist. Focuses on the growth of new technologies in industry versus the laws protecting them. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)

Patents and Strategic Inventing spells out exactly what a typical corporate inventor needs to know about patents and patent strategy, as well as how these topics can be used to guide the creation of new products. It explains in clear, easy-to-understand language how to secure patents that deliver the most possible value to the organization and build legal protections into properties from the outset. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)

Although chemists, physicists, biologists, polymer scientists, and engineers in industry are involved in potentially patentable work, they are often under-prepared for this all-important field. This book provides a clear, jargon-free, and comprehensive overview of the patenting process tailored specifically to the needs of scientists and engineers, including: 1) Requirements for a patentable invention, 2) how to invent. 3) new laws created by President Obama's 2011 America Invents Act, 4) the process of applying for and obtaining a patent in the U.S. and in foreign countries, and 5) commercializing inventions and the importance of innovation. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)

As individuals and companies realise the importance of their inventions, issues surrounding patent laws and practices are taking centre stage around the world. Patent Strategy introduces researchers to patent applications and patent portfolios. With minimum use of 'legal jargon' it provides the technical professional with the assistance and advice they require to understand the legal complexities that they may encounter before and during a patent application. It also discusses the responsibilities of the researcher after patent applications have been filed and the role the researcher can play in the maintenance of a global patent estate. Found through Utah Tech University Library website ; E-book collections ; O"Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online)