Welcome to the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment
If you are in a life science course and have been assigned the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment, this website is where you will find information to help you complete the assignment.
Students can register for an optional hands-on, active-learning workshop available at the registration link below. To attend the optional workshop, you must register in advance at the link below.
To register for the optional Abstracted Bibliography Assignment Workshop, click here.
Once you have clicked the link above, find on the calendar a date and time that works for you and click on the registration button.
All workshops are held in the library computer classroom (HCC 234).
Details are found on the calendar when you register.
Assessment Survey
After attending the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment Workshop, please complete a short survey at the end.
Please fill out the following 3-minute assessment survey:
Sample/Example of the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment
Click the PDF link below for an example of the abstracted bibliography assignment assigned in your life sciences course.
Scientific Style and Format for Crafting Your Citations
Click here to go to the online style guide for the CSE (Council of Science Editors) scientific style and format. This citation style has two formats. You will be using the name-year format.
How to Craft Your Abstracts
What is an abstracted bibliography?
A bibliography is simply a list of source material. It would include any books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, periodicals, web sites, etc. you have used in your research on a particular topic.
An abstract is a summary of source material you have used in your research on a particular topic.
Writing an excellent abstract is a valuable and necessary skill to develop. It takes practice and that is one reason the abstracted bibliography assignment is required so that you can gain practice developing this essential and critical skill.
When you craft your abstract you will need to be succinct, clear, focused, concise and thrifty with your words. Furthermore, your abstract must effectively summarize the content of the source highlighting main arguments, points, and ideas.
