Books in the Library
Guide to reference and information sources in plant biology by Call Number: QK 45.2 .G85 2006ISBN: 1563089688Publication Date: 2006
Botany illustrated : introduction to plants, major groups, flowering plant families by Call Number: QK 45.2 .G57 2006ISBN: 0387288708Publication Date: 2006
American household botany : a history of useful plants, 1620-1900 by Call Number: SB 108 .U5 S85 2004ISBN: 0881926523Publication Date: 2004Sumner shows how European settlers and their descendants made use of the "strange" new plants they found, as well as the select varieties of foods and medicines they brought with them from other continents. She describes the transition from wonderment to daily use, as homesteads were built upon and prospered from the plants of the New World.--jacket
The private life of plants : a natural history of plant behaviour by Call Number: QK 50 .A77 1995ISBN: 0691006393Publication Date: 1995
Reference Books
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & TechnologyCall Number: Q 121 .M3 2007 V.1-20ISBN: 9780071441438Publication Date: 2007AccessScience.com/MHEST is an online companion to this 10th edition. It features a regularly updated selection of updates to articles, interview transcripts, graphics, media, Podcasts, 3D animations, questions & answers, image galleries, and more that complement the print volumes and enhance the learning experience.
The Utah Tech University Library recommends additional reference sources in print. This list shows a few of the titles related to the physical and life sciences. Some are available online, in print at the library, or available via inter-library loan. If you need help finding one, give the reference desk a call.
Environmental Science : In Context by Call Number: Reference GE 10 .E583 2009 V.1-2ISBN: 9781414436173Publication Date: 2009Provides essential facts and deeper cultural connections of topics and issues related to the scientific study of the environment and its impact on humanity.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by Call Number: Reference QC 981.8 .G56 E47 2008 V.1 -3ISBN: 9781412958783Publication Date: 2008Also available online through Sage e-Reference.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by Call Number: Reference QE 703 .E523 1999 V.1-2ISBN: 1884964966Publication Date: 1999
Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by Call Number: Reference QH 541.15 .B56 L54 2002 V.1-2ISBN: 157607286XPublication Date: 2002An examination of nature's extraordinary biological diversity and the human activities that threaten it.
The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs by Call Number: Reference QE 861.4 .P387 2010ISBN: 9780691137209Publication Date: 2010World-renowned dinosaur illustrator and researcher Gregory Paul provides comprehensive visual and textual coverage of the great Mesozoic animals that gave rise to the living dinosaurs, the birds.
Encyclopedia of Genetics by Call Number: Reference QH 427 .E53 2004 V.1-2ISBN: 1587651491Publication Date: 2004
Professor's Bookshelf
Dinosaur Paleobiology by ISBN: 9780470656587Publication Date: 2012-05-08FROM THE BACK COVER:
The study of dinosaurs has been experiencing a remarkable renaissance over the past few decades. Scientific understanding of dinosaur anatomy, biology, and evolution has advanced to such a degree that paleontologists often know more about 100-million-year-old dinosaurs than many species of living organisms. This book provides a contemporary review of dinosaur science intended for students, researchers, and dinosaur enthusiasts. It reviews the latest knowledge on dinosaur anatomy and phylogeny, how dinosaurs functioned as living animals, and the grand narrative of dinosaur evolution across the Mesozoic. A particular focus is on the fossil evidence and explicit methods that allow paleontologists to study dinosaurs in rigorous detail. Scientific knowledge of dinosaur biology and evolution is shifting fast, and this book aims to summarize current understanding of dinosaur science in a technical, but accessible, style, supplemented with vivid photographs and illustrations.
The Topics in Paleobiology Series is published in collaboration with the Palaeontological Association, and is edited by Professor Mike Benton, University of Bristol.
This "bookshelf" is a listing of books recommended by faculty teaching here at Utah Tech University. These are some of the titles that helped make your professors the experts they are today!
Biometry by ISBN: 9780716786047Publication Date: 2011-09-16FROM AMAZON.COM:
This easily understood but rigorous introduction to biological statistics is a standard text and valuable reference for anyone doing scientific research. The fourth edition has been thoroughly revised and updated using computer calculations and the authors have expanded on important modern topics.
