Connecting from Off-Campus
If you're using a computer off campus, you need to "prove" that you are affiliated with Utah Tech University by logging in via a VPN client on your computer in order to connect to library databases (e-journals, e-books, etc.). Once you click on the database name, you will be prompted to put in your username and password. This is your D number username and password.
- Science Database ListFrom the Science Database List, click on the title of the database you wish to search, then enter your Dmail username and password when prompted.
Primary Research
Peer-Reviewed Journals
Refers to the process in scholarly, academic, scientific, or refereed journals where articles are evaluated by experts in the field prior to publication. Common characteristics include:
-
Expert author with qualifications listed
-
In-Text Citations & Works Cited Length of article
-
Formal tone and format
-
Research results – original research
Hint: Make sure you use primary research. Don’t use a quote from an article cited within another article (known as an indirect or secondary citation); you must go back to the original article.
Databases to find News & Journal Articles
The Utah Tech University Library website is your portal to an infinite number of print and online resources. I have listed just a few of the more comprehensive databases that specialize in scientific research. These can also be accessed directly through the Sciences & Mathematics subject list of databases.
- Academic Search Ultimate* A scholarly, multi-disciplinary, database; with full text coverage of 4600 journals in a range of subjects.
* This database is a good starting place for almost any topic search.
* Many items provide links to full text of articles. - Web of Knowledge* Consolidated searching of citation search engines and multidisciplinary listings of articles in 8,500 major scholarly journals.
* Provides article abstracts, bibliographies, and citation data.
* E-mail alerts are available.
* Integrated with EndNote web (www.endnoteweb.com). - BioOne*Full text database that is an aggregation of high impact geoscience research journals.
* The focus centers on the biological, environmental, and ecological sciences. - ScienceDirect (Elsevier)* Extensive database of Elsevier journals in a wide range of subjects.
* Excellent searching capabilities and full text access.
* An excellent resource for authoritative information in many subject disciplines. - JSTOR Plant Science* Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science—plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.
- Annual Reviews* A collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
* Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics. - GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)* Focused on environmental issues; some full text, some indexing and abstracting.
- Tsinghua Science and Technology (TST) Journal"Published bimonthly by the Tsinghua University Press, one of the leading technology institutes in China, this comprehensive academic journal presents up-to-date scientific achievements with high creativity and great significance in key engineering fields, especially computer and electronic engineering." (IEEE Xplore)
