English 1010: Search Strategies

Boolean Operators

Boolean Logic consists of three logical operators (connectors): AND, OR and NOT

AND

• Finds sources containing two or more ideas
• The database will only retrieve items containing both words
• AND narrows your search

OR

• Use OR when searching for synonyms
• OR tells the database that the words can be used interchangeably, so it will retrieve items containing either word
• OR broadens your search to include synonyms and related words

NOT

• Use NOT when you wish to exclude records from your search results 
• Be careful when using NOT! The term you want may be present in an important way in results that also contain the word you wish to avoid 

Boolean Search Video

More Search Strategies

Nest search terms using parentheses ():

• Make a complex search using both AND and OR by placing parentheses around synonyms so you don't have to repeat searches
• Nesting saves you time by allowing you to search multiple synonyms at once
• Example: (electronic OR internet OR web) AND (vote OR voting) - this cuts down on having to do multiple searches for the combinations of keywords

Truncation: *

• The * is a common symbol used to replace any number of letters at the ends of words
• Helps find singulars, plurals, and variant endings of words
• Check each database's help pages to see which truncation symbol is used in that particular database
• Example: vot* finds vote, votes, voter, voting, etc.

Filters: 

• Most databases let you limit search results with built in filters/limiters. Some filters include:

  • Language
  • Source Type
  • Date of Publication (etc.)

Phrases: " "

• Enclose phrases in quotation marks when searching the Web or most databases
• Phrase searching in individual databases may vary. Check the help pages in each database for additional information.
• Example: "electoral college"