Business: Accounting

A federal and state tax information service. You must first register with the database before you can use it.

This glossary contains short definitions of accounting, auditing, and finance terms.

Tax Abbreviations Guide

This is the official site for the IRS, and can be used to find federal tax information, forms and instructions, and more.

Forms from all 50 states.

"Tax Returns Required by U.S. Persons with Foreign Source Income and/or Foreign Persons with U.S. Source Income."

This site is designed to be an information filter for academic accountants and therefore contains information of direct relevance to this community with news, reviews, jobs, events, journals, and web site links.

Online business news for the tax and accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and a host of Web-related resources and services.

One of the largest accounting sites on the Internet. Included is information about professional associations, journals and publications, FASB, EDGAR, software, international publishers, accounting education, and homepages of accounting professors, to name a few.

This site provides tax topics by category.

Search for administrative Rules, tax bulletins, commission decisions, private letter rulings, and tax commission publications.

This is the official site for the IRS, and can be used to find federal tax information, forms and instructions, and more.

Reports the taxes collected in each state for up to 25 tax categories, and gives quarterly estimates of state and local tax revenues.

This site is a directory of sites and can be used to locate federal tax information, and the homepages for all state tax commissions.

This meta-site site presents two simple tables with links to tax and accounting sites. Academic focus. NOTE: Many databases require logins and are not free.

Business valuation publications, industry resources, economic data, public market data, transaction data, legal and tax resources, and more.

Reports on the tax and spending policy of each state and provides rankings in various categories.

Compares the tax burden for the major tax types (income, property, etc.) in all the states and 51 cities.

By Annette Nellen. Includes background papers on E-commerce taxation issues, statistics, work being done on the issues by various groups, and several points to consider in examining how various tax rules should (or should not) apply to e-commerce. Below are various links to several other e-commerce taxation papers, and well as legislative information.

Government website for finding 10K (Annual reports), 10Q (Quarterly reports) of US publicly traded companies.

Provides tables comparing the tax rates and structure for all fifty U.S. states. State income, sales, and excise taxes are covered along with other related items.

Contains Utah accounting information, including career information, resources for small businesses, governmental resources, finance and stock market information, calculators, and tax resources. A good explanation of the sites contents is provided on the home page.

Orients prospective exam candidates to the format, content, navigation, and tools of the CPA examination.