There are excellent web resources for art and art history research and study. Many national museums and libraries have online collections, so you will find other relevant resources by searching the Internet for museums in specific countries. The resources linked below were chosen specifically for excellent visual content, but include only resources in English.
Evaluating websites and other resources is important to ensure that the sources you are using are credible and accurate.
The CRAAP Test is very easy to remember and can be used to check the currency, relevance, authority, accuracy and purpose of resources being used for papers and assignments.
The CRAAP Test includes a list of questions that can be used to evaluate information that you find. This is particularly important in the evaluation and use of websites.
Currency: the timeliness of the information
Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs
Authority: the source of the information
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content, and
Purpose: the reason the information exists
Here are some excellent online reference resources you can access from the Dixie State University Library Article Database page.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary database designed for public libraries that covers virtually every subject area of general interest.
Provides the full text of nearly 500 books, 164,400 primary source documents, and 1,700 other general reference
publications as well as a large image collection of photos, maps and flags.
Oxford Art Online
This database includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, links to Images from ARTstor.
Provides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.