Books on the shelf
Representing Revolution in Milton and His Contemporaries by Call Number: EBRARYISBN: 0521770327Publication Date: 2001-03-15
The Life of John Milton by Call Number: PR 3581 .L45 2003ISBN: 1405106255Publication Date: 2002-11-08
Advanced searching the library catalog for Milton
On the library homepage (https://library.utahtech.edu/), choose "Online catalog" from under the search box.
A new search bar will appear that says "Quick Search" above it.
Under that you will see the hyperlinked words: "Power Search" - click the link.
Now you have more options for searching!
Suggestions for finding books on Milton
- Use a "Subject" search from a drop down menu and type in "John Milton" - this will find all library materials about John Milton
- We have MANY e-books about Milton - to look at only physical books on the library shelves, look for the "location" drop down menu and select "Library stacks"
- To look at the list of books in different ways, look for the "sort by" drop down menu and select the option that works for you
Internet Resources
- The John Milton Reading Room"The John Milton Reading Room: the complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations. Thomas H. Luxon, General Editor © Trustees of Dartmouth College, 1997-2015."
- Manuscript of Paradise Lost from the Morgan Library CollectionSee the digitized version of the only surviving manuscript of Milton's Paradise Lost. The manuscript is part of the Morgan Library's collection in New York City.
- John Milton and Seventeenth Century CultureAn exhibit of material from the seventeenth century to add context to the life of John Milton. The exhibit is presented by the University Libraries Rare Books & Special Collections at the University of South Carolina.
- John Milton and the Cultures of PrintAn exhibit on Milton's work in the context of the changing world of print. It was created by Rutger's University Libraries using material from their Rare Books & Special Collections.
- MiltonA broadcast about the literary and political careers of John Milton from the BBC 4 radio station.
- Milton QuarterlyThat's right! An entire journal devoted to Milton! You can use this website to search for articles but do NOT pay for them. The library has access to them for free in various databases!
Library databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThis database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Topics include language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Some material is in full text, many others are bibliographic citations or abstracts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new windowMilton Quarterly can be accessed in this database.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing full-text access to literary criticism from a wide range of sources. User can search by author, work, or topic. This is a standard resource for students of literature. Includes criticism for drama, poetry and short story criticism.
- Salem Literature This link opens in a new windowReference resource for literary criticism. Provides access to the Critical Insight and Critical Surveys collections.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowContains some interesting articles on Milton. Many articles cannot be accessed by Utah Tech University users because of licensing, but they could be requested on Interlibrary Loan. Please do not purchase from the site!
- Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new windowHistorical dictionary of English, covering use of words from earliest times to present day.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, poets, essayists, etc. Limited to 2 concurrent users.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowCitation index that provides consolidated searching of a social science citation index, art and humanities citation index and multi disciplinary databases—may be searched by author, title, subject, and topic. These are citations of usage, not full text and will be useful primarily to upper division students and faculty doing research.
- Oxford Reference Online - Premium This link opens in a new windowLanguage and subject reference works from Oxford Press into single cross searchable reference.
Other fascinating sites from the Internet
- John Milton's CottageThe website for the only extant home of the poet John Milton. If you're ever in England, you could stop by for a visit.
- Milton RevealedAn ambitious and collaborative project by the University of California at Berkeley. It is intended to pull together audio-visual material related to Milton for the purpose of teaching and research.
- Milton Society of AmericanYes, there is an entire society dedicated to Milton. There may be useful information about Milton scholars and their award-winning work.