Welcome!
This guide is designed to assist with research and classes in English. It contains recommendations for resources related to English language studies, British and American literature, and other literatures written in English
Did you know?
There is a curse placed on Shakespeare's grave.
Starting Points
- MLA International BibliographyThis database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. Topics include language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Some material is in full text, many others are bibliographic citations or abstracts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a selection of humanities and social sciences journals.
- Gale LiteratureProvides literary content from primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Integrates material from Literature Resources Center, Literature Criticism Online, and LitFinder
Finding Books
Circulating Books:
We use the Library of Congress classification system (call numbers) to organize our print books. Books related to Languages and Literature can be found in the "P" section. Below is a general list of call numbers that relate to English. These areas are found on the third floor of the library.
PE - English Language
PN - Literature (General)
PQ - French Literature, Italian Literature, Spanish Literature, Portuguese Literature
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature
Search for books in the Library Catalog
