Free National Newspaper Resources
- Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present." - Google News Archives
Alphabetical listing for many historical newspapers from around the US, dates vary considerably. - Cornell's Making of America
Great resource for Harper's New Monthly, The Century, Scribner's, and other literary magazines from 1830-1901. - The Online Books PageThis site provides link to over 20,000 full-text books and journals in English.
- Bowling Green Guide to Historical US Newspapers by StateA great resource for digitized newspapers by states from various sources.
- Newspapers.com4,400+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s with
Millions of additional pages added every month. - HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust has many newspapers, as well as books. Simply use the Advance Full-Text Search to limit the original format to newspapers.
- International Coalition on NewspapersThe ICON database is a comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats.
- Catholic Newspapers OnlineThis list of online Catholic newspapers is being compiled by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance to provide access to all extant Catholic newspapers in North America.
- Cornell's African American Historical Newspapers OnlineThis guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.
National Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest New York TimesHistorical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA scholarly journal archive that provides image and full text access to archival (more than 5 years old) scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas.
- ProQuest Newsstand This link opens in a new windowFull-text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text documents for over 5600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. This is an excellent database for information on current issues or business.
Featured Resources
- ProQuest New York TimesHistorical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
- Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Meet your librarian!
Digitized Newspapers
Many historical newspapers have been scanned, transcribed, and added to various digital collections online. With so many databases and websites devoted to digitized newspapers, there is no one-stop-shopping to find every newspaper. Persistence and multiple search attempts can eventually pay off if you just keep trying to find a citation.
Most digitized newspapers are often easier to use than the original paper version, because they are full-text searchable. Fair warning, not all full-text is created equally. You may find in searching that the full-text has many errors. These errors can prevent you from finding the information you are searching for. Sometimes a good old-fashion skim reading of the newspaper will pay off.