Oldest Local Newspapers
- Southern Utah Star - MicrofilmMicrofilm of the first issue of the short-lived Southern Utah Star from July 20,1895.
- The Union - DigitalDigital version of the The Union which was published in St. George between 1878 and 1898.
- Washington County Newspapers - Microfilm
The Mineral Cactus: March 7, 1868-May 2, 1868
The Cactus: September 19, 1868-June 19, 1869
Our Dixie Times: January 22, 1868-April 22, 1868
The Rio Virgen [Virgin] Times: May 13, 1868-November 24, 1869
St. George Footlights: March 12, 1880-July 1, 1882
Silver Reef Footlights: Dec. 15, 1878
The Enterprise: April, 1872-May 22, 1874
The St. George Enterprise: July 10, 1874-August 14, 1874
The Evening Telegram: April 8, 1879-May 1, 1879
The Daily Telegram: May 4, 1879- May 8, 1879
The Silver Reef Miner: March 17, 1882-November 4, 1882
The Union / The St. George Union: June 14, 1878-February 1887; January 1897-April 30, 1898
Utah Pomologist and Gardener: April 1870-February 1876.
Older Local Newspapers
- Washington County News -DigitalDigital Washington County News for 1898-1945 provided through the Utah Digital Newspapers.
- Washington County News - MicrofilmMicrofilm of the Washington County News which began publication on January 30, 1908 and ceased in 1988.
- The Dixie Falcon - MicrofilmMicrofilm of The Dixie Falcon for some issues between September 22, 1900 and May 11, 1901.
- The Dixie Advocate - MicrofilmMicrofilm of The Dixie Advocate for some issues between September 13, 1901 and November 6, 1906.
DSU Special Collections and Archives has a full run of the Dixie Jr. College News, 1943-1951, and the Dixie Sun News, 1951-2012, available in paper format.
Not so Old Local Newspapers
- The Spectrum - MicrofilmMicrofilm of The Spectrum from January 1973 to six months ago.
- The Spectrum - NewspaperThe last three months of the Spectrum can be found in the periodical area on the mezzanine. Special Collections retains the newspapers until the microfilm is ready, so you can always find The Spectrum.
- The Spectrum - OnlineThe local newspaper for Washington County, which can be helpful for exploring local issues and topics for papers.
- The Independent
The independent newspaper of St. George that can offer different insight into events and issues in the local area. - El Sol -Digital
Digital version of El Sol which was published 2006-2008 provided through the Utah Digital Newspapers.
Featured Resources
- ProQuest New York TimesHistorical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
- Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Meet your librarian!
Using Microfilm
As newspapers age they become brittle and crumble when touched. Microfilm is a long term preservation method that has been heavily utilized to save newspapers for you and future researchers.
You can search newspapers on microfilm using the microfilm reader on the 3rd floor of the Holland Centennial Commons. If you have questions or need help getting set up, library and Special Collections staff are happy to help. Recent newspapers on microfilm can be found in the cabinet by the reader. Many of the older newspapers on microfilm are held in Special Collections, and are available to be viewed during Special Collection open hours.
