Nutrition: Nutrition Abstracted Bibliography Assignment

If you are in a foundations of nutrition course and you've been assigned the Abstracted Bibliography Assignment, this site is where you will find information to help you complete it. 

Check out the Library Citation Guide for APA. Also, you can get help from Purdue OWL.

Think of using these citation guides as a formula. You're inputting the correct information such as title and author and following the punctuation and formatting shown in these guides.

Why do I need to cite my sources? 

What is an abstracted bibliography?

A bibliography is simply a list of source material. It would include any books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, periodicals, web sites, etc. you have used in your research on a particular topic. In this case, it would be a list of 5 scholarly journal articles. 

An abstract is a summary of source material you have used in your research on a particular topic. You will write a concise abstract for each article that effectively summarizes the content of the source highlighting main arguments, points, findings, and ideas particularly in the connection of long-term dietary choices contributing to the development of chronic disease. You must read the article and create an abstract in your own words. This will be approximately one paragraph.

When you craft your abstract try to be succinct and clear with your words. Here is a great guide from the UT Writing Center.

Here is a link to a Google Doc that has an example of an abstracted bibliography in APA. 

CINAHL - A cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature database with more than 200,000 citations, and abstracts of articles. Contains nutrition related content.