The links below will take you to the Canvas Commons module that can be imported or downloaded directly into your Canvas course. Make sure you are logged into Canvas Commons with your Utah Tech credentials before clicking! You can also find them in Canvas Commons by searching "Utah Tech Library" 
This module introduces evaluation criteria and shows how to apply them to both scholarly and online sources. Module includes a quiz and activity that gives students the opportunity to apply source evaluation skills with an article they find.
Explains the importance of citations and citing sources, goes over the basics of creating in-text citations and works cited pages using MLA style. Covers best practices for citation generators. Includes quiz.
Explains the importance of citations and citing sources, goes over the basics of creating in-text citations and works cited pages using APA style. Covers best practices for citation generators. Includes quiz.
This activity walks students through the difference between primary, secondary, scholarly, and popular sources and when you might use these different source types.
This module explains what a library database is and how they are useful to the research process. Introduces and demonstrates database search strategies. Includes quiz.
This module walks students through the process of coming up with a good research question starting with a topic, refining, rewriting, and testing. Includes quiz.
This modules introduces students to annotated bibliographies and how to write them. Goes over the difference between an annotated bibliography and a literature review. Includes quiz.
This module introduces students to literature reviews and how to write them. Goes over the difference between an annotated bibliography and a literature review. Includes quiz.
Questions? Comments? Concerns? Want a module for a topic not on this list or more tailored to your course's needs? Please reach out to the instruction librarian!
