Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Databases

 Criminal Justice Databases (in alphabetical order, and accessed by one of the 3 choices below)

• Library Webpage > Article Databases > Subject > Criminal Justice; or
  
• Library Webpage > Article Databases > Alphabetical List; or
  
• Click on links below.

•  Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) : This multi-disciplinary provides full-text for more than 4,600 journals, including full-text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Mostly Full-text. 
• Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) : Includes 2,300+ full-text titles, with 1,100+ peer-reviewed titles. Full-text.
• Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text (EBSCOhost) : Contains 300,000+ records in criminology, criminal justice, corrections & prisons, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, substance abuse & addiction, and probation & parole. Includes full-text for more than 200 magazines & journals, as well as full textbooks and monographs. Covers hundreds of journals from around the world because of the increased globalization of criminology. Mostly Full-text.
  
• Legal Collection (EBSCOhost) : Full-text for 250+ of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Authoritative source for current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Full-text. 
• LexisNexis Academic : Access over 10,000 legal, news, and business sources. Provides access to the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. The news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Use the included Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. Full-text.
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) : Library/Abstracts : Contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
• ScienceDirect (Elsevier) : Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. Offers a journal collection of over 2,500 titles, with 9,034,799 articles. Full-text.
• Social Science Citation Index (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : A social science citation index with no full-text, but links out to Some Full-text.
• Web of Science (part of ISI Web of Knowledge) : Explores top high-impact journals with powerful tools such as cited reference searching and Author Finder. 256 categories thoroughly cover the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. 
  

Google Scholar : (Google > More [top bar, right] > Google Scholar) : A freely accessible Web search engine that indexes the full text of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online journals of Europe and America's largest scholarly publishers. It is similar in function to the freely available Scirus from Elsevier, CiteSeerX, and getCITED. Because most of Google Scholar's search results link directly to commercial journal articles, a majority of the time users will only be able to access a brief summary of the articles topics, as well as small amounts of important information regarding the article, and possibly have to pay a fee to access the entire article. Google Scholar is as easy to use as with the regular Google web search, especially with the helpfulness of the "advanced search" option, which can automatically narrow search results to a specific journal or article. The most relevant results for the searched keywords will be listed first, in order of the author's ranking, the number of references that are linked to it and their relevance to other scholarly literature, and the ranking of the publication that the journal appears in. Through its "cited by" feature, Google Scholar provides access to abstracts of articles that have cited the article being viewed.

Google Scholar’s legal database of US cases is extensive. Users can search and read published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and US Supreme Court cases since 1791. Google Scholar embeds clickable citation links within the case and the How Cited tab allows lawyers to research prior case law and the subsequent citations to the court decision. The Google Scholar Legal Content Star Paginator extension inserts Westlaw and LexisNexis style page numbers in line with the text of the case.

--from Wikipedia