Welcome!
The following is a list of resources in Special Collections & Archives related to Hollywood and Motion Picture/Film making in Southern Utah. This list is not comprehensive. If you do not see what you are looking for, please contact Special Collections & Archives staff.
Motion Picture materials
Cuba Lyle papers
Collection Number: WASH-013
Dates: 1867-1995
The Cuba Lyle papers comprise historical and personal research, including photocopies of documents and newspaper clippings accompanied by notes; correspondence; photographs; newspaper clippings on the filming; call sheets for filming; a guest book of Hollywood crew and actors; and an assortment of commemorative brochures and programs.
Irma Thomas Downwinder collection
Collection Number: WASH-035
Dates: 1953-2004
Irma Thomas materials related to her activism in the 1950s to 1980s to call attention to the hazards of radiation exposure from above-ground atomic bomb testing at the Nevada Test Site on citizens in Southern Utah called "Downwinders." The collection consists primarily of Thomas' notes, correspondence, writings, activist group meetings, research, legal documents, and a large collection of newspaper and magazine articles.
Postcard collection
Collection Number: WASH-037
Dates: 1919, 1987, undated
This collection is composed of postcards with images of sights and tourist attractions in the larger Southern Utah area and Saint George, Utah more specifically.
Saint George Area Chamber of Commerce collection
Collection Number: WASH-064
Dates: bulk 1977-2015
The Saint George Area Chamber of Commerce collection consists of the Saint George Area Chamber of Commerce files, events, local area and business information, chamber newsletters, newspaper articles and photographs including many that are digitized. The collection is from 1977-2015, and was created and organized by the Saint George Area Chamber of Commerce in St. George, Utah.
-
History of Kane County
by
Call Number: F 832 .K3 H5 1970Publication Date: 1970. -
When Hollywood Came to Town
by
Call Number: PN 1993.5 .U785 D37 2010ISBN: 9781423605874Publication Date: 2010-09-01Also available in Library stacks.
Chronological index of motion pictures and television made in Utah, p. 286-304. -
The movies filmed in Washington County [Utah] : a summation of titles and locations of the 20th century
by
Call Number: PN 1995.67 .U8 M336 2005Publication Date: c2005.Noted motion picture filming locations in Washington County -- On location in the county -- On location in St. George -- Benefits and recognition -- Reflection and preservation -- Information sources -- Internet, magazines, newspapers -- List of movies and locations.
Movie Making in Dixie by Dick Hammer
Call Number: ORALHIST 1994-002A
Publication date: 2001
"Dick Hammer was interviewed August 19, 1994 and September 10, 1997 to share his knowledge about movie making in Washington County with Douglas Alder of the supervisory committee appointed by the Washington County Commission."--p. 5
Interview with Patrick Curtis by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALIHST 2016-004
Publication date: 2016
"Patrick Curtis was interviewed March 4, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah." --leaf 4
Interview with Arthur J. Hale by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALHIST 2016-005
Publication date: 2016
"Arthur J. Hale was interviewed March 28, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah." --leaf 5
Interview with Bruce Pickett by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALHIST 2016-006
Publication date: 2016
Bruce Pickett was interviewed March 15, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah.--leaf 4.
Interview with James D'Arc by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALHIST 2016-007
Publication date: 2016
James D'Arc was interviewed April 22, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah. --leaf 6.
Interview with Glen Blakely by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALHIST 2016-008
Publication date: 2016
"Glen Blakley was interviewed April 13, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah." --leaf 5
Interview with Ben [Braten] & Phil Tuckett by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALHIST 2016-009
Publication date: 2016
"Ben Braeten and Phil Tuckett were interviewed September 28, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. They related their experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah." --leaf 4
Interview with Mario De Angelis by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: ORALIHST 2017-013A
Publication date: 2018
Mario De Angelis was interviewed by cell phone on October 21, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah. Wendy Stabler also participated. --leaf 4.
Interview with Tobijah "Toby" Tyler by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong
Call Number: 2017-013B
Publication date: 2018
Tobijah "Toby" Tyler was interviewed by cell phone on March 21, 2016 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah. --leaf 4.
Interview with Stephen B. Armstrong by Wendy Stabler
Call Number: ORALHIST 2018-001
Publication date: 2018
Dr. Stephen B. Armstrong was interviewed on November 20, 2017 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Wendy Stabler. He related his experiences with motion picture production in Washington County, Utah. --leaf 4.