Other types of books
Books in the Library: Search in the Library Catalog for books by or about an author.
Example: "Madeline L'Engle"
Access to E-book Collections: Library Home Page > Books & More > E-book Collections
Interlibrary Loan: To order books not in the Utah Tech University Library use the online Interlibrary Loan service. Allow 10 days for delivery.
Books
Children's Literature Collection
Located in the Southwest corner of the third floor of the Holland Centennial Commons, the Juvenile Collection contains books designed for ages birth to 12th grade and is divided into several sections.
Juvenile Nonfiction: The third section on the tall shelves (beginning on the left) is the Juvenile Nonfiction section. These books are organized by Dewey Decimal call numbers. For example, Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman is in the collection Juv Nonfiction and has the call number: 973.7 F8537L; 973.7 refers to American history of a certain time period; F8537 refers to the author; and L relates to the title. You must look for the collection name to differentiate Juvenile Nonfiction from the regular Dewey Decimal books in the library.
Young Adult Fiction: Between Juvenile nonfiction and fiction, you will find the young adult books that are geared toward 8th grade and older. Young adult books have more mature content and subject matter.
Juvenile Fiction: Just beyond the Nonfiction, on the second row of tall shelves are the Juvenile Fiction books, where most literature is found. These books are also organized by author. For example, Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson has this call number: Fic P296BR in which Fic (or Fiction) denotes the Juvenile Fiction section; P296 refers to the author; and BR relates to the title. Juvenile Poetry is not included in this section; it is located in Juvenile Nonfiction (808.21 / 811s).
Picture Books: Picture books are found on the first section of tall shelves. Picture books are organized alphabetically by author. For example, Tuesday by David Weisner has this call number: Picture W651T in which Pic (or Picture) denotes the Picture Books section; W651 refers to the author; and T relates to the book's title.
To search the Juvenile Collection, use the Utah Tech Library Catalog listed under Books & More.
