Research Guides: Psychology Resources: Subject Encyclopedias

E-Reference Sources

Here are some great sources using an E-reference source.

Gale Virtual Reference
Depression, 2008
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, 2nd ed., 2006
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2nd ed., 2008
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, 2005

Oxford Reference Online
A Dictionary of Psychology

Sage e-Reference Libraray:
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology
Encyclopedia of Human Development
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Handbook of Adoption
Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science
Encyclopedia Of Career Development
Handbook of Career Studies
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media
Handbook of Cognition
Handbook of Cognitive Aging
Handbook on Communicating and Disseminating Behavioral Science
Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Counseling
Encyclopedia of Emotional & Behavioural Difficulties
Sage Handbook of Gender and Communication
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Sage Handbook of Health Psychology
Health Psychology Handbook
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Handbook of Humanistic Psychology
Handbook of Implicit Cognition and Addiction
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Handbook of Industrial, Work, & Organizational Psychology
Handbook of International School Psychology
Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Handbook of Mentoring at Work
Sage Handbook of Methods in Social Psychology
Encyclopedia of Muticultural Psychology
Handbook of New Media
Sage Handbook of Nonverbal Communication
Encyclopedia of Obesity
Handbook of Parenting
Handbook of Physiological Research Methods in Health Psychology
Encyclopedia of Play in Today's Society
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
International Handbook of Psychology
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
Psychology Research Handbook
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook
Handbook of Reacial & Ethnic Minority Psychology
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
Handbook for Social Justice in Counseling Psychology
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Sage Handbook of Social Psychology
Handbook of Spiritual Development in Childhood and Adolescence
Handbook of Work Stress
Handbook of Working with Children and Youth
Handbook of Workplace Diversity
Handbook of Workplace Violence

ebrary
Has over 21, 000 books on the subject Psychology

Reference Shelves

Here are some selected Reference books for you to use. You will find these and many others in the Reference section of the library.

Encyclopedia of psychology by Raymond Corsini, editor
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .E52 1994
4 volumes. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Ada P. Kahn ; Jan Fawcett
Call Number: Reference RC 437 .K34 2001
Facts on File, Inc. includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence by Robert J. Sternberg, editor
Call Number: Reference BF 431 .E59 1994
2 v. includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties by Ronald M. Doctor ; Ada P. Kahn
Call Number: Reference RC 535 .D63 2000
Facts on File, Inc. includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Depression by Roberta Roesch
Call Number: Reference RC 537 .R63 2001
Facts on File, Inc. includes bibliographical references and index.
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia & other Psychotic Disorders by Richard Noll
Call Number: Reference RC 514 .N63 2000
Facts on File, Inc. includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders by Michael J. Thorpy and Jan Yager
Call Number: Reference RC 547 .Y34 2001
Facts on File, Inc. includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming by Mary A. Carskadon, editor
Call Number: Reference BF 1078 .E63 1993
Includes bibliographical references and index
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan E. Kazdin, editor
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
v. 1. Aborti-bystan -- v. 2. Calkin-determ -- v. 3. Develop-Gooden -- v. 4. Govern-learne -- v. 5. Learni-opposi -- v. 6. Optimi-rapapo -- v. 7. Rape-system -- v. 8. Table-zubin.
Sport Psychology: the key concepts by Ellis Cashmore
Call Number: Reference GV 706.4 .C39 2002
Routledge Key Guide
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yo Jackson, editor
Call Number: BF 31 .E63 2006
Also available online at Sage e-reference. Addresses topics as diverse as academic achievement, acculturation, affirmative action, community interventions, education, health, immigrants, prejudice, racial identity development, social ecology, stereotyping, teaching multiculturalism, tokenism, values, violence, worldviews, and more.
Psychology Basics by Frank N. Magill, editor
Call Number: Reference BF 31 .P765 1998
v. 1. Abnormality defined--intelligence -- v. 2. Intelligence tests--the visual system.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory by Larry R. Squire, editor
Call Number: BF 318 .E53 1992
Includes bibliographical references and index
Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology by Antony S. R. Manstead ; Miles Hewstone, editors
Call Number: Reference HM 251 .B476 1995
Includes bibliographical references and index
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Growth and Development by Stanley J. Ulijaszek, editor
Call Number: QP 84 .C26 1998
Includes bibliographical references and index
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by Joseph D. Noshpitz, editor
Call Number: RJ 499.3 .H356 1997 v. 1-4
v. 1. Infants and preschoolers : development and syndromes --v.2. The grade school child : development and syndromes -- v.3. Adolescence : development and syndromes -- v.4. Varieties of development.