Foreign Languages: Library Resources

Library databases are digital collections of information sources, including (but not limited to):

• Popular magazines -- best for current topics where you only need basic information.
• Newspapers -- best for news, current, or even historical information.
• Scholarly journals -- great for college-level research. Best when you need data, details, and original research.
• Trade journals -- a magazine with information geared towards a specific profession or industry. Best for trends, commentary, and overviews of research.

Library databases are easily searchable by keywords and results can be filtered by date, publication, date of publication, and publisher. Most provide access to full-text articles.

A keyword search in a library database will search the titles, summaries, publication information, and full-text of articles, leading to thousands of results. Because of this, focusing your search so the results are specific and relevant to your topic is crucial.

When you search a library database, you have to use specific search terms. To see some examples and how to use the Library of Congress Classification for Class P: Language and Literature, click here: 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Library_of_Congress_Classification:Class_P_--_Language_and_Literature

Visit us

View upcoming library hours

Chat

www.library.utahtech.edu

Email

library@utahtech.edu
 

Call

435-652-7714 Ext. 2

Book a Librarian appointments

Request a Book a Librarian research consultation to meet or video chat on a day and time convenient to your schedule.