E-Reference Sources
Here are some great sources using an E-reference source.
Gale Virtual Reference: Gale Virtual Reference Library, provides students with access to more than 1,000 electronic reference titles.
Sage Knowledge: Browse by the Media, Communication, and Cultural Studies discipline.
E-Book Sources
- Theory and Research in Mass Communication : Contexts and Consequences byCall Number: ebrary
- Media Effects : Advances in Theory and Research byCall Number: ebrary
- Computer Mediated Communication : Social Interaction and the Internet byCall Number: ebrary
- Encyclopedia of public relations byCall Number: Sage eReference
Reference Shelves
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information by Call Number: Reference P 87.5 .E53 2002ISBN: 0028653866Publication Date: 2002Library Journal editorial review: The 280 signed articles in the set, edited by Schement (communication and information policy, Pennsylvania State Univ.), were written primarily by U.S. academics, along with a few contributions from industry and international sources. Entries cover eight general topics: careers in the communication and information fields, information science, information technologies, literacy, institutional studies, interpersonal communication, library science, and media effects. Students will find that the articles provide a good overview of each topic and that most have a bibliography. Many favorite student topics, such as subliminal advertising, media effects on body image, and minorities in the media, are included.
International Encyclopdedia of the Social Sciences by Call Number: Reference H40 .A2 i5 2008ISBN: 9780028659657Publication Date: 2008From the Publisher: The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime.
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology by Call Number: QA 76.575 .E5368 2003ISBN: 0761923829Publication Date: 2003From Amazon.com to virtual communities, this single-volume encyclopedia presents more than 250 entries that explain communication technology, multimedia, entertainment, and e-commerce within their social context.
The Handbook of Mass Media Ethics by Call Number: Reference P 94 .H355 2009ISBN: 9780805861914Publication Date: 2009An anthology of essays by different authors discussing mass media ethics.
Here are some selected Reference books for you to use. You will find these and many others in the Reference section of the library.
Books Available for Borrowing
- Basic Readings in Communication Theory byCall Number: P 90 .M64 1973ISBN: 0060446250Publication Date: 1973Compilation of chapters by D.C. Barnlund, W. Schramm, P. Watzlawick, J.C. Condon, Jr., E. Goffman, A. Mehrabian, M. Argyle, E. Katz, D. Katz, J.T. Klapper, E.T. Hall and others.
Communication Theory Today by Call Number: Q 360 .C655 1994ISBN: 0804723478Publication Date: 1994
The Sage Handbook of Nonverbal Communication by Call Number: BF 637 .N66 S24 2006ISBN: 1412904048Publication Date: 2006Also available online through Sage E-reference database.
Handbook of Family Communication by Call Number: HQ 519 .H36 2004ISBN: 0805841318Publication Date: 2004Offers a comprehensive exploration and discussion of current research and theory on family interaction.
Communication and Aging by Call Number: HQ 1064 U5 C5364 2000ISBN: 0805833315Publication Date: 2000Communication and aging: pragmatic and theoretical considerations -- Attitudes and ageism -- Relational considerations -- Mass media use and aging -- Mass communication theory and media portrayals of elderly people
The IABC handbook of organizational communication : a guide to internal communication, public relations, marketing, and leadership by Call Number: HD 30.36 .U5 i25 2006ISBN: 0787980803Publication Date: 2006Partial Contents include: Business communication in the evolving corporation -- Managing communication -- Internal communication -- Public relations -- Marketing communication -- The future of business communication.
The practice of public relations by Call Number: HM 1221 .S45 2011ISBN: 9780136088905Publication Date: 2011What is public relations, anyway? -- The history and growth of public relations -- Communication -- Public opinion -- Management -- Ethics -- The law -- Research -- Media relations/print & broadcast -- Employee relations -- Community relations -- Government relations -- Consumer relations -- International relations -- Public relations writing -- Writing for the eye and ear -- Integrated marketing communications -- Public relations and social media -- Crisis management -- Launching a career.
