Welcome!
The following is a list of resources about Southern Paiute history, culture, and traditions. See the Art in Special Collections tab to find books about Native American art, including petroglyphs. The list is not exhaustive, but provides a good representation of what is available in Special Collections & Archives.
Books about Native American / American Indian / Alaska Native / First Nations of North America are typically classified in
E 51-99.
Southern Paiute Materials
LaVan Martineau Collection by LaVan Martineau
Collection Number: WASH-062
Dates: Majority of material found within 1810-2003
This collection consists of La Van Martineau’s papers he wrote and collected on the Shivwits Band of Paiutes, and Santa Clara Reserve. The collection contains a digital file with Martineau’s Book of Remembrance, photo album, and Military Records. Martineau’s collection is from 1985-2003, while living in St. George, Utah.
C. R. Savage photographs by C. R. Savage
Collection Number: WASH-080
Dates: 1875
This collection contains a single stereograph card depicting an David H. Cannon baptising a "Shebit" [Shivwit] Indian man, possibly See-Poor-a-Tum, in St. George, Utah. The photo was taken by C. R. Savage in March 1875.
Drafts of History of the Southern Paiutes or Nawuvi by Edward Leo Lyman
Accession Number: Acc. 2017-012 & Acc. 2018-004
Unfinished book on the history of Southern Paiutes.
Answers to questions about American Indians and suggested reading lists by Call Number: E 76.6 .U54 1965Publication Date: 1965The Indian people -- The legal status of Indians -- The Bureau of Indian Affairs -- Indian lands -- The economic status of Indians -- Indian education -- Indian health -- Where to learn more about Indians.
From the Sands to the Mountain by Call Number: E 99 .P2 B86 1987ISBN: 0803211899Publication Date: 1986-12-01Southern Paiute society -- San Juan sociopolitical adaptations in the prereservation period, 1776-1900 -- San Juan social history, 1900-1970 -- San Juan relations with the federal government, 1901-1984 -- Aspects of modern San Juan cultural identity -- The modern sociopolitical community -- Change and persistence -- Appendix 1. Guide to Southern Paiute orthography and pronunciation -- Appendix 2. Southern Paiute / Ute kinship terminologies -- Appendix 3. Residential groupings and resource use by household among the ethnographic study group, summer 1983.- The Paiute people by Call Number: E 99 .P2 E84 1972Publication Date: [1972]"This book is to commemorate the issuance of the official Southern Paiute medal, March 15, 1972, and is limited to 15,000 copies. No. 1973."
- Southern Paiute ethnohistory by Call Number: E 99 .P2 E85 1966Publication Date: 1966"Glen Canyon Reservoir, Upper Colorado River Basin, Southern Paiute ethnohistory, as part of the Upper Colorado River Basin Salvage Program, in accordance with Memorandum of Agreement 14-10-0333-955, between the U.S. National Park Service and the University of Utah / by Robert C. Euler."--p. iii
Southern Paiute by Call Number: E 99 .P2 H43 2010ISBN: 9780874217544Publication Date: 2010-11-05Also available in Library stacks.
Now little recognized by their neighbors, the Southern Paiute had homelands that included large segments of the vast Colorado Plateau, Great Basin, and Mojave Desert. Vibrant oral traditions live on among the Southern Paiute people, who here tell of their lives then and now. Hebner and Plyler relay Paiute voices, reveal Paiute faces, and create a space for the Southern Paiute to tell stories and stake claim to who they once were and who they now are.--from jacket
Beneath These Red Cliffs by Call Number: E 99 .P2 H65 2006ISBN: 0874216370Publication Date: 2006-07-31Holt recounts the survival of a people against all odds. A compound of rapid white settlement of the most productive Southern Paiute homelands, especially their farmlands near tributaries of the Colorado River; conversion by and labor for the Mormon settlers; and government neglect placed the Utah Paiutes in a state of dependency that ironically culminated in the 1957 termination of their status as federally recognized Indians. That recognition and attendant services were not restored until 1980, in an act that revived the Paiutes' identity, self-government, land ownership, and sense of possibility.--from publisher description- Southern Paiute bands by Call Number: E 99 .P2 K44 1934Publication Date: 1934
- Life Is with People by Call Number: E 99 .P2 K59 1980ISBN: 0879190914Publication Date: 1980-01-01The problem, the community, and the sample -- Interaction with the dominant society through employment -- Within the Paiute community: social organization -- Summary and conclusions.
- Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians : annual general membership meeting, October 7, 2006 by Call Number: E 99 .P2 K353 2006Publication Date: 2006
- Southern Paiute Shamanism by Call Number: E 99 .P2 K455 2009Publication Date: [2009]
- The Southern Paiutes : legends, lore, language and lineage by Call Number: E 99 .P2 M37 1992Publication Date: c1992Also available in Library stacks.
- NUWUVI : a southern Paiute history by Call Number: E 99 .P2 N88 1976Publication Date: c1976Introduction -- "Corn is brought to the earth" -- The NUWUVI -- "Onga, Ogochiok, and Shinau-av go to a distant mountain to gather pine nuts" -- The first intruders: explorers, traders and slavers -- "The abandoned boys" -- The Old Spanish Trail and the slave trade -- "Hupats visits the Jay Nation on the Kaibab" -- The coming of the Mormons -- "Origin of the echo" -- The uneasy peace -- "Chuarruumpurunkunt and the Yukuts" -- The reservations: Moapa, Shivwits, Las Vegas, Cedar City -- "The flood" -- Appendix A. Chronology -- Appendix B: Land claim -- Footnotes -- Bibliogrpahy -- Maps: Southern Paiute territory, Southern Paiute Bands, Major historical trails, Southern Paiute reservations and colonies
- Ghost dancing the Grand Canyon : Southern Paiute rock art, ceremony, and cultural landscapes ; [draft] by Call Number: E 99 .P2 S764 1998Publication Date: 1998Combining rock art studies with ethnohistory, contemporary ethnographic analysis, and the interpretations of people who share the cultural traditions being studied, this paper documents a rock art site in Kanab Creek Canyon that appears to have been the location of a Ghost Dance ceremony performed by Southern Paiute and perhaps Hualapai people in the late 1800s. Using the site as a point of departure, it focuses on the way in which synergistic associations among place, artifact, resources, events, and historic and contemporary Indian people contribute to the construction of a contextual cultural landscape.--abstract from PubMed.
- Proposed Paiute Indian tribe of Utah reservation plan by Call Number: E 99 .P2 U48 1982Publication Date: 1982
- Indian Treaties, 1778-1883 by Call Number: KF 8202.4 1972BISBN: 0879890258Publication Date: 1975-01-01Reprint of Indian affairs: laws and treaties, v. 2, originally published in 1903, reissued in 1904 by Govt. Print. Off., Washington, and in 1972 by Interland Pub.
- The Southern Paiute language by Call Number: PM 2094 .S26 V.65 N.1 1930Publication Date: 1930Southern Paiute, a Shoshonean language -- Texts of the Kaibab Paiutes and Uintah Utes -- Southern Paiute dictionary.
History of the Shivwits Band of the Paiute Indian Tribe of Utah : Interview with Wallea (Grayman) Baker, Clayman John, Leon John, Alvin Marble, Angus Snow, Donnitta Snow, and Dollie Big Soldier
Call Number: ORALHIST 1993-008
Publication Date: 2000
"Wallea (Grayman) Baker, Claymon John, Leon John, Alvin Marble, Angus Snow, Donnitta Snow, and Dollie Big Soldier were interviewed in 1993 to share their knowledge of the Shivwits Band in St. George, Utah by the Washington County Commission."--leaf 5
Interview with Shanan Martineau by Susannah Nilsson
Call Number: ORALHIST 208-018 A
Publication Date: 2019
"Shanan Martineau was interviewed November 13, 2018 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Susannah Nilsson for the Washington County Historical Society. Participants are: Susannah Nilsson, Kathleen Broeder, Archivist at Dixie State [Utah Tech] University and videographer, Mike Gardner." -- leaf 5.
Interview with Shanan Martineau by Susannah Nilsson
Call Number: ORALHIST 2018-018 B
Publication Date: 2022
"Shanan Martineau was interviewed November 16, 2018 in St. George, Washington County, Utah by Susannah Nilsson for the Washington County Historical Society. Participants are: Susannah Nilsson; Kathleen Broeder, Archivist at Dixie State University; and videographer, Mike Gardner." -- leaf 5.